All-ACC Microsite Teams and Postseason Awards

Posted by Jimmy Kelley on March 12th, 2013

Another great season in the ACC is in the books and it’s time to recognize those who had outstanding seasons with our postseason awards. We here at Rush the Court’s ACC Microsite have decided to hand out our own awards based on what we believe is a unique set of criteria and, while it may not differ wildly from what the actual outcome of the award races is, just know we all voted prior to their release. Here are this year’s All-ACC Microsite Teams and ACC Postseason Awards.

Note: Jimmy Kelley, Ethan Mann, Kellen Carpenter and Matt Patton all voted for first-, second-, and third-teams as well as their top three for each of the individual awards. A first place/team vote was worth three points, second worth two and a third place/team vote was worth one. In the event of a tie, the tiebreaker was high-quality votes (i.e., more second-team votes).

ACC Microsite Player of the Year

Erick Green, Virginia Tech:¬†Green nearly swept the voting, grabbing three of four first-place votes. The nation’s leading scorer, Green was the lone highlight for a Virginia Tech team that went 4-14 in ACC play, finishing dead last. Mason Plumlee and Shane Larkin garnered a co-Player of the Year vote on the other ballot.

Erick Green, Virginia Tech

Erick Green of Virginia Tech garnered the ACC Microsite’s highest honor.


All-ACC Microsite First Team

  • Mason Plumlee, Duke
  • Erick Green, Virginia Tech
  • Joe Harris, Virginia
  • Richard Howell, NC State
  • Shane Larkin, Miami

Notes: Plumlee, Green and Harris were unanimous selections for the first team. Howell and Larkin received one second-team vote apiece.

Second Team

  • Reggie Bullock, North Carolina
  • Seth Curry, Duke
  • Michael Snaer, Florida State
  • Kenny Kadji, Miami
  • Ryan Anderson, Boston College

Notes: Bullock and Curry each received a first-team vote. Anderson holds on to final spot due to having more second-team votes than Alex Len.

Third Team

  • Alex Len, Maryland
  • P.J. Hairston, North Carolina
  • Quinn Cook, Duke
  • C.J. Harris, Wake Forest
  • Akil Mitchell, Virginia

Notes: Cook was the only unanimous non-first team selection, receiving four third-team votes. Honorable mentions: C.J. Leslie and Lorenzo Brown of NC State, Julian Gamble of Miami.

ACC Microsite Defensive Player of the Year

Julian Gamble, Miami: The defensive anchor for one of the league’s best defensive teams, Gamble was the unanimous selection for what is the least scientific of awards.

ACC Microsite Coach of the Year

Jim Larranaga, Miami: Another unanimous selection, Larranaga’s case was the only one with any validity. Under his leadership this year’s Hurricanes climbed to their highest heights and maximized their talent en route to an ACC regular season title.

ACC Microsite Rookie of the Year

Olivier Hanlan, Boston College: Our most tightly contested award, Hanlan pulls out the victory by one voter point. He topped T.J. Warren despite both receiving two first-place votes.

ACC Microsite All-Rookie Team

  • Olivier Hanlan, Boston College
  • Rasheed Sulaimon, Duke
  • T.J. Warren, NC State
  • Marcus Georges-Hunt, Georgia Tech
  • Devin Thomas, Wake Forest
Jimmy Kelley (20 Posts)

Follow Jimmy Kelley on Twitter @jp_kelley

Share this story

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *